The Gambler Addiction Index (GAI) is a gambler (adult male and female) assessment test that assesses important gambler attitudes and behaviors. The GAI is an objective self-report test that has a Truthfulness Scale to identify denial, problem minimization and attempts to "fake good." The GAI is a statistically sound and an empirically validated test which meets and exceeds the professionally accepted standards for reliability, validity and accuracy.

The GAI has 166 items, takes 35 minutes to complete and has seven measures (scales):

1. Truthfulness Scale
2. Gambler Severity Scale
3. Suicide Scale
4. DSM-IV Gambling Scale
5. Alcohol Scale
6. Drugs Scale
7. Stress Coping Abilities Scale

For thorough gambler understanding, the GAI assesses important gambler attitudes and behaviors. Gamblers have a higher suicide rate than most other clinical groups. And the Truthfulness Scale is particularly helpful when evaluating gamblers because gamblers are often notorious liars. The DSM-IV Gambling Scale reflects DSM-IV gambler classification, whereas the Gambler Severity Scale measures the severity of gambling problems. Stress management is another important area of inquiry when assessing gamblers.

For more information visit:
(this website will open in a new window)

* * * * *
Test Materials
You must have the latest version of Acrobat Reader to view these links. It is a free program offered by Adobe Systems Inc. You can download the latest version of Acrobat Reader here.

On some systems, Microsoft Internet Explorer brings up a warning message when you attempt to download any of these files. They are Acrobat Reader files and are safe to open, save, or print.
Click here to login. Click here to open a new account.